top of page

Act Of Contrition & The Seven Deadly Sins

O my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended you, and I detest all my sins, because of Your just punishments, but most of all because they offend You, my God, who are all-good and deserving of all my love. I firmly resolve, with the help of Your grace, to sin no more and to avoid the near occasion of sin.

Pride: is excessive belief in one's own abilities that interferes with the individual's recognition of the grace of God. It has been called the win from which all others arise. Pride is also known as Vanity.

Envy: is the desire for others' traits, status, abilities, or situation.

Gluttony: is an inordinate desire to consume more than that which one requires.

Lust: is an inordinate craving for the pleasures of the body.

Anger: is manifested in the individual who spurns love and opts instead for fury. It is also known as wrath.

Greed: is the desire for material wealth or gain ignoring the realm of the spiritual. It is also called Avarice or Covetousness.

Sloth: is the avoidance of physical or spiritual work.

Recent Posts

See All

Am I Called To Forgive Family?

Questions answered in this course: Am I called to forgive a family member? What if I or my offender died suddenly? This class is excellent before going home for Thanksgiving or Christmas, or any famil


bottom of page